Chips' Fun House Forum Index

View next topic
View previous topic
Page 1 of 1
Chips' Fun House Forum Index  ~  Our Clubhouse - General Discussion  ~  what i do for a living (aka, why i've been gone.)
The Crimson King
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 9:38 pm  Reply with quote
Forum H4xor
Forum H4xor

hey folks! just telling you guys that i'm still around, i do make random posts, but i haven't played on steam for the better part of 2 months... so i decided to show you guys what i do for a living! I'm a soon-to-be electrician's apprentice at the Omaha Community Playhouse, just 44 hours away from my 600 needed to be a full apprentice. i've also done some carpentry work, and i'm training to become a high steel rigger with the local stagehand union.

sorry, some of the pictures are a little blurry, took the majority of them with my cellphone.

this is from one of the last shows we did, Company the Musical, constructing the back of what's supposed to be a Skyline, which ended up looking like this:

the last show i did, Shakespeare in Hollywood, i ran followspot for, sitting in the catwalk, crouching over a spotlight, with a pretty decent view:

another shot, during a rehersal. i helped build the tree in the center stage, which has ends that shoot out glitter and smoke:

and this last picture is from my rigging class. what you DON'T see is the 70 foot long chain that's dropping down 69 feet to the ground, which i pulled up and tied off on the I-beam. that stuff gets really heavy, really fast.

the next time i do this, the I-beam will be a real one, stretching across the Qwest Center, 98 feet off the ground, on a six inch beam (this one was twelve) wearing a body harness clipped onto wires. strange thing is, i'm terrified of heights. lol

there'll be plenty more as i keep going with this!

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Controlled Chaos
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 11:55 pm  Reply with quote
Forum H4xor
Forum H4xor