View next topic
View previous topic
Page 1 of 1
Chips' Fun House Forum Index  ~  Mapping & Modeling  ~  My map
Kirby119
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 7:23 pm  Reply with quote
Forum Soldier
Forum Soldier

I decided I would try my hand at mapmaking. This will be the thread about my progress and all the questions I will ask (and there will be alot of them, because I am new at this). Suggestions are always open.

I downloaded the hammer software and got everything configured using the handy link Snickers gave me. However, I am a little confused about how to start. I don't really know how to see a 3d image using the 3 2d screens and because of this I'm not sure how something I put down will turn out.

I also need some opinions. My map will be like 2mesa4 as it will have an outside area between bases and two bridges between a gap. My gap will be wider than 2mesa4. So I need some feedback on how to do the valley.

-Have a deep gap and an instant kill when you hit the bottom (exactly like 2mesa4)
-Deep gap with no instant kill
-Have a gap about half that size with water in it.
-Above with no water in it.

Thanks for everyone's help ahead of time. I really appreciate you helping a newb out.

PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 8:23 pm  Reply with quote
Forum H4xor
Forum H4xor

2mesa4 size is perfect, just deep enough that you can still conc out of it(which will take a while to test on yours) but to add an instant kill, on the very very bottom(so that way you can still get out of it) add a trigger brush to it, maybe one unit tall, and make it a trigger_hurt with an insane amount of damage done every second(I would go around 5000 just to be safe) so that way when you hit it, it deals out 50000 damage in a second, and you die instantly(it deals out to 50 damage every millisecond, so in 2 milliseconds it's done 100 damage, and in another 2 it's done another 100 pretty much killing everyone in about 4 milliseconds).